Blind acceptance is a sign of stupid fools who stand in line.

When I was growing up in the 90s punk rock had a bit of a revival.  I would listen to punk bands like the Dead Kennedys,  Black Flag, Social Distortion, and of course the Sex Pistols.  I idolized people like Mike Ness and Johnny Rotten.  I was so into punk that I began to play guitar.  In fact I had a one man punk band for a while which is still available at

http://www.myspace.com/phaustband

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBfeaAivVzI

Many of you may be wondering what punk rock has to do with a political blog.  A lot of those bands were very political and had a huge impact on my world view.  Posted below are a few lyrics that stand out.

Social Distortion: Don’t Drag me Down

“You’re eighteen wanna be a man

Your granddaddy’s in the Ku Klux Klan

Taking two steps forward

and four steps back

Gonna go to the White House

and paint it black”

Black Flag: Police Story

“This fucking city is run by pigs

They take the rights away from all the kids

Understand we’re fighting a war we can’t win

They hate us, we hate them

We can’t win, no way”

Dead Kennedys: I fought the Law

“I’m the new folk hero of the Ku Klux Klan

My cop friends think that’s fine

You can get away with murder if you’ve got a badge”

Sex Pistols: God Save the Queen

“God save the Queen

Tourists are money

But our figurehead

Is not what she seems”

These punk rockers were really pundits in disguise. Collectively they opened up my eyes.  Honestly if it weren’t for them I would probably be a card carrying republican and a white collar bankster looting the economy with the rest of the Wall Street scum. I am thankful everyday that I was rescued from the base criminality of modern American business men. Jello Biafra describes these businessmen like this “I’m not an artist I’m a business man no ideas of my own.”

By the time I was getting into punk most of these bands were defunk, however the punk revival took place because the youth of America had seen enough to realize that the authorities were utterly corrupt. These bands were relevant when they first came out, relevant during the 90s, and they are more relevant now than ever before.

Today the authorities are still as corrupt as ever. It’s time for a new generation to pick up the mantle of dissent and rebellion. The battle for America’s soul needs fresh blood. People like me are getting older. We are all in our thirties now and we could use the reinforcements. I urge all of my millennial readers to join the fight against corruption today. Your country needs you now more than ever.

There’s always room for Jello.

Leave a comment