The Sleeper Must Awaken

When I was growing up I always felt like something was wrong with America and big business.  Ever since I was 13 I’ve felt the same.

Maybe I was corrupted by punk rock.  It’s no secret that punk influenced my politics and word view as described in my previous article Blind acceptance is a sign of stupid fools who stand in line.  Then again maybe something was wrong all this time.

I used to think that people would never wake up and see the writing on the wall.  Now I know that I am not alone.  Like Frank Herbert said in his book Dune “The sleeper must awaken.”

People are waking up to reality.  The government and financial institutions are a monster fueled by greed.  Like a hydra if you cut off it’s head another one sprouts in it’s place.

The rise of the Occupy movement made it clear to me that people are over it.  As reported in Occupy Norfolk even in my home town people rose up and for a while occupied the commercial plaza.  Keep in mind that Norfolk, Va. is a military town in the south so blind patriotism has been the norm ever since I can remember.

Harris Interactive recently released a report detailing several US companies reputation quotients.  The report can be found here.

Notably Apple and GM scored well on the report, however the usual suspects did not fare well.  My pals at Bank of America, Goldman Sachs, JP Morgan Chase, and Wells Fargo saw all of their reputations decline.

At this point it’s public knowledge that I feel the same about all of the institutions mentioned above.  I even have pet names for them such as Wells Fucko, Skank of America, Government Sachs, and JP the Whore’s Face.

In a way these banksters gone wild have made the Blue Scholar Blog.  I have spent a large portion of my blogging career criticizing abusive financial institutions as covered in Foreclosure of a dream, Fear and Loathing on Wall St., A Run on the Bank, Government Sachs, Pigs we get what pigs deserve., and Organized Crime by the Usual Suspects.

Leave a Reply

