I’ll wash your mouth out with SOPA

First and foremost I would like to say what the f@#$.  What I meant to say is what the FUCK!

Yes I’m jumping on the bandwagon today.  I’ll be joining such sites as wikipedia.org theoatmeal.com wired.com google.com and many others in their resistance to SOPA.

SOPA or the Stop Online Piracy Act/H.R.3261.IH is the government’s attempt to take control of the internet away from we the people.  The authorities realize that the internet and the rise independent media threatens their stranglehold on information, and subverts their ability to propagandize the public.

Adam Savage of TVs Mythbusers had this to say about the bill “Make no mistake: These bills aren’t simply unconstitutional, they are anti-constitutional. They would allow for the wholesale elimination of entire websites, domain names, and chunks of the DNS (the underlying structure of the whole Internet), based on nothing more than the good faith assertion by a single party that the website is infringing on a copyright of the complainant. The accused doesn’t even have to be aware that the complaint has been made… I’m not kidding.”

Personally I am in complete agreement with Mr. Savage.

Some of you at home may be wondering what exactly can be done to combat this tyrannical and oppressive legislation. I urge all of my readers to contact their congressman immediately and let them know that this back door censorship will not stand.

The following web site can be used to obtain contact information for your congressman directly from the United States House of Representatives https://writerep.house.gov/writerep/welcome.shtml

Leave a comment