WOMEN vs RAPE in DC:

I ran across this yesterday and was so upset by it that I decided it needed to be posted. The report below outlines a serious oversight by the MPD sexual assault unit. This is a clear cut case of the authorities ignoring the cries of the innocent in order to protect their own reputations.

For their protection the identity of the author has been concealed. It is their wish and my own that this report helps someone somewhere.


Every hour in the United States, 28 acts of rape are committed.

(Rennison, Callie. (February 2003). Intimate Partner Violence, 1993-2001. Washington, DC. Bureau of Justice Statistics.)

I know, because I am one of the 28. I was kidnapped and raped in DC this year. Yet because of my horrendous treatment by the officers of the MPD sexual assault unit- I had to file a complaint which is currently still ‘under investigation’-or, in all reality- in essence, nothing has been done.

Of these 28, 60% will never be reported to police*

Now I am a victim caught in the DC ‘system’: which has failed me. The question is – just how many more women have been affected? When will this change? And WHEN will women be taken seriously?

15 out of 16 of these rapists, will never spend a day in jail.*

In 2010, the D.C. media did a tremendous job of fact-checking D.C. police on its sexual assault stats. Currently the Metropolitan Police is being investigated by a Human Rights Organization because of the numbers: the numbers simply aren’t adding up- and haven’t for a few years. In July 2010, Mark Segraves reported that sexual assault reports in some parts of the District had risen as much as 300 percent over the past year- and that was 2010. In a year-end report the Washington Examiner found that serious sexual assault reports jumped 50 percentDistrict-wide. Police have used various arguments to deflect these numbers, but arguments are simply not enough. Since 2010, the numbers have increased-fact: but yet some reports or accounts are not even being researched, but closed as “conscentual sex” or various other reasons. The last found statistics online on DC rape were published by the FBI .Out of a population in 2009 of 599, 657 people, there were ONLY 150 reported rapes**. 150. Clearly, the numbers are shockingly and amazing LOW. At last report- they have increased- but they are still amazing low. According to the Washington Examiner:Rapes in the District soared by nearly 20 percent in 2010, according to recently released FBI statistics.The FBI’s annual crime statistics show there were 184 rapes in D.C. in 2010 (http://washingtonexaminer.com/local/dc/2011/06/fbi-rapes-dc-jumped-20-percent-2010#ixzz1VbQ29Ono )

A difference in data-

FBI rape statistics for D.C.:

2010: 184

2009: 150

D.C. police rape statistics:

2010: 149

2009: 134

The number of “serious” sexual assaults in the District skyrocketed nearly 50 percent in 2010 compared with 2009, according to internal police statistics obtained by The Washington Examiner. As of Dec. 12, there had been 200 “serious” sexual assaults in the city, compared with 137 at that point in 2009 — a 46 percent spike.

Serious”- are you kidding me? Shouldn’t all incidents of rape be considered “Serious”? Or are general rapes just a joke to D.C.? In my mind- ANY rape is serious, and definitely any rape considering KIDNAPPING as well as SEXUAL ASSAULT: should be considered “Serious”. I was kidnapped: padlocked in a room the size of a closet and given a bucket to use the bathroom in; kept totally in the dark with nothing but a radio and given drugged water to live off of for 4 days. While I was in and out of consciousness I was sexually assaulted and sodomized by 2 separate Latino men at the residence. DC Cops had to come and KICK THE DOOR IN (as the padlock was on the outside of the door, of course) to extract me from where I was kept- of which it was a miracle that I survived.I could have died as one of the assailants nearly slit my throat with a butcher knife. Battered, bloody, bruised and not in my right mind: I was questioned by Latino cops who-unbeknownst to me: had spoken to the assailants before me and refused to believe me.One threatening me of the charges of “Lying to the police about a report”- taunting me with “What two people do out of consent is not my concern”. One of them told me I should apologize to one of the men as he brought dinner back to my ‘closet’ that night. Photos were taken; a rape kit was collected (of which the results were never divulged). I was anally and vaginally ripped and bruised. Yet the police report said “No visible injuries”. I filed charges against the officers that questioned me and initially closed my case. Nothing has come of it. I was not even properly re-imbursed (as DC promised) for my medical bills. Now tell me D.C. – WHY? Do you have a rape ‘quota’ that you cannot surpass that is the reason why statistics do not seem to reflect the actual reality of rape reports and you erroneously closed the case? Reportedly, FBI statistics and those of the department have routinely differed. For example, D.C crime statistics show violent crime was down nearly 7 percent in 2010, while FBI statistics show violent crime in the District dropped less than 2 percent from 2009 to 2010.***

So who here, is telling the truth? It seems like D.C. has something to hide- Shame on you D.C.!

Amazing, considering a person can query on the internet the number of sexual perpetrators in their current area: and oddly enough, when I did so in the area I was sexually assualted and the surrounding areas: there were at least 4 or MORE sexual offenders on each BLOCK of that area. Why is D.C. failing us? Only they have answers to that question. Perhaps it is because they are lazy and don’t want to work on ‘complex’ rape cases. Perhaps they do not care as much for their citizens as much as they claim. Perhaps they are ‘fudging’ the numbers in order to ‘deflate’ statistics- to make D.C. look more favorable to potential inhabitants.

Whatever the reason- we need answers. Victims demand them. I demand them. We want to know why we are treated as if WE are the perpetrators: not the victims. We want to know why it takes so long for our cases to go to court (if they even do) we want to know WHY we are being ignored by the ‘system’.

Are we invisible? Do we not exist?

I’m sure D.C. does not want us to.

So, in actuality, not only am I a victim of this egregious crime, but ultimately, also I am a victim of the D.C. Metropolitan Police Department and it’s failures: not only of fudging numbers, but in follow through of the crime, and in its victim’s treatment. I AM A VICTIM OF DC SANE as well: as they did not follow through with their promises and policies. There is strength in numbers, and our numbers will not lie. The Human Rights Organization will shortly bare witness to this as well. We only have to hurry up-and wait.

Slutwalk 2011 proved to D.C. that we all have voices: and that we will speak up for our rights and the rights and respect that we deserve. There simply should not be anymore travesties of justice. Yet, to rape apologists and to misogynist politicians who seek to strip women of control over their bodies and their sexuality, rape is an inevitable and natural part of life. Thus, women should be expected to plan ahead for violent and deliberate acts of assault on their bodies, just as one would plan ahead for flat tires, natural disasters, and other… accidents in life. (http://www.feministe.us/blog/archives/2011/07/07/slutwalk-rape-culture-and-the-anti-choice-movement/)

Therefore, according to this statement: when I was a child: I should’ve planned ahead to be kidnapped and raped: just because I’m female?

BULLSHIT.

We need to take another look at rape, and specifically: at rape in our nation’s capital as that should set precedence for the rest of the country. As it is now, if we (meaning the U.S.) were judged by the District of Columbia alone, the rest of the country should also be lackadaisical, judgemental, errorenous in reporting statistics (if they do at all), and simply careless. Is this what we want to base the worldview of rape and treatment of victims on? I think not.

LISTEN UP DC because what I’m about to tell you should be common knowledge: rape is not the victim’s fault. It’s not about what she wears (Legally, In order for clothing to be a deterrent to a rapist, a woman must dress to look like a man (really…she must entirely hide the fact that she has a vagina which can be violated). Anything else is unsupportable by fact. See- http://www.law.duke.edu/shell/cite.pl?14+http://www.law.duke.edu/shell/cite.pl?14+Duke+J.+Gender+L.+&+Pol%27y+125#B139). It shouldn’t be dependant on what or even if she drinks; how late she stays out; if she’s on a date; what her profession is, nor should blame be placed because of the social networking information/photographs of the victim. RAPE IS A CRIME. There should be no ways to skirt the issue. RAPE IS RAPE. RAPE IS VIOLENCE. And RAPE SHOULD NOT BE OVERLOOKED because of any silly, stupid, nonsensical reason that I listed above (that all try to place blame on the victim and not the perpetrator, of course). VICTIMS DESERVE equal treatment, timely responses to the treatment of the crime, and not to be ignored nor spoken down to. (I had one of the police officers doing the investigation yell at me for “Wasting his time”- stating “Do you know how many cases like this we get? – we don’t have time for this”.

I’m sorry you don’t have time for me.

I’m sorry DC never made enough time either to listen to the lamentations and screams out in protests of the women that were assaulted in this way.

I’m sorry that you simply do not care.

But I challenge you here, D.C. – if you really DO care: prove it.

Because, as of now: I have lost all faith in the DC System- and in ever receiving justice. The DC MPD and DA ignore me and treat me like trash. My perpetraitors still walk the streets as free men. FREE. While I am the one in prison- living in hell. I am afraid to go outside of my house or even do anything social anymore. AFRAID and a PRISONER.Now tell me if this is your version of justice?

Although the country has seen crime rates plummet in recent years, rape continues to be a major concern in America. According to Annette Fuentes’ article, “Crime Rates are down… But What About Rape?” in Ms. Magazine, “an estimated fifteen percent of women are raped or molested at some point in their lives”. While big cities such as Boston, Dallas, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, and New York have seen the rates of violent crimes such as murder, robbery, and aggravated assault plummet, rape has not been so fortunate. In most of these cities, reported cases of rape have declined by only a few percentage points, whereas in some of these cities, reported cases of rape have actually increased. Rape is an epidemic that is slowly plaguing our entire nation, and unless some drastic action is taken immediately, this epidemic may never be cured.

This country now has a fight on its hands: and it’s Women Vs Rape. Like D.C.-Without acknowledging the problem that rape has become, there is no room to improve. The only way that America can truly eradicate this dilemma which is slowly taking over our country is by creating better awareness, and by treating rape cases correctly in a timely manner, and as a SERIOUS matter.

Nobody— not even your worst enemy should be subjected to the experience of rape. There is no crime more emotionally painful to the victim than rape because the man who rapes a women takes away all of her pride, self respect, and dignity and throws her into a life of living hell.

When will I stop having nightmares and flashbacks b/c of a failed system?

When will I be given the key to unlock my jail cell of living hell?

When will I see justice?

That is only for D.C. to decide….and they are twiddling their thumbs- I presume, as I await the response from a D.A. who has never returned either mine nor my family lawyer’s many phone calls.

In the meantime, I will be waiting in my cell in hell- yet screaming as loud as I can so that someone might hear my cries: and that is all I can do…..for now.

Like I said: this is a fight: Women Vs Rape.

And right now, Rape is winning- thanks, in part, to D.C.

Update: 09/22/11: DC’s DA declined to proceed with my case: closes it, and refuses to arrest the perpetrators. Nothing was done against the police with my formal complaint.

Conclusion: THERE IS NO JUSTICE.

*Source: RAINN: http://www.rainn.org/statistics

**Source: FBI, Uniform Crime Reports: The Disaster Center: http://www.disastercenter.com/crime/dccrime.htm

***Washington Examiner

Resources:

DC Rape Crisis Center
Washington, DC
202-232-0789

Join the Conversation:

https://www.facebook.com/RapeHurtsEveryone

One Response to WOMEN vs RAPE in DC:

  1. […] WOMEN vs RAPE in DC: I ran across this yesterday and was so upset by it that I decided it needed to be posted. The report below outlines a serious oversight by the MPD sexual assault unit. This is a clear cut case of the authorities ignoring the cries of the innocent in order to protect their own reputations. […]

Leave a Reply

